Skip to content
En français

Learn

Tokenized African stocks: what exists

Which shares of African companies exist as tokens on a blockchain, which platforms say they are coming, and what has only been announced. Every row names its source and the date we checked it.

Information only

Djeli sells none of these tokens, earns nothing from them and has no referral links on this page. Nothing here is advice.

Most of the live tokens below are not offered to US persons, and Kraken and Bitget, which sell or list them, exclude Canada. The rules depend on the issuer, the platform and where you live, so read the platform’s own terms.

What we did not find

As of 30 Sep 2026 we found no token backed by shares bought on the Nigerian Exchange (NGX), the BRVM or the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE). Airtel Africa is listed in Lagos, but its token follows the London line.

We checked the issuers and platforms named on this page. The search was not exhaustive.

Live

Tokens on a public blockchain today. We read each one’s supply on-chain when we checked it, which says nothing about whether you may buy it where you live.

xStocks: four London-listed, Africa-linked companies

Live

Tracker certificates issued as tokens that can move freely between wallets. Each follows the price of one company’s share on the London Stock Exchange. A certificate is a claim on its issuer, not the share itself.

Tokens
Underlying
Shares bought on the London Stock Exchange. Airtel Africa is also listed in Lagos, and Investec and Mondi in Johannesburg, but the tokens follow the London line.
Issuer
Backed Assets (JE) Limited, Jersey. Swiss-law certificates under a base prospectus approved in Liechtenstein on 8 May 2026.
Chains
Ethereum, SolanaxStocks’ catalogue also lists addresses on Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Ink, Mantle, Optimism, TON and X Layer.
Who may buy
Not for US persons, and not offered in the UK. Backed does not serve people in Nigeria, Ethiopia, DR Congo, Mali, Mozambique, Zimbabwe and some other countries, and sells directly only to qualified investors; others buy through licensed platforms. Kraken, one of them, also excludes Canada and Australia.

Each token has supply on both Ethereum and Solana, read on-chain when checked.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

Reality rStocks: five JSE-listed companies, through their US shares

Live

Tokens that the issuer says are backed one for one by the companies’ US-listed shares, held with US broker-dealers. They give no legal ownership of the shares and no vote.

Tokens
Underlying
US-listed shares: GFI, HMY, AU, SBSW and SSL. All five companies are also listed on the JSE.
Issuer
Reality (BG El Salvador, S.A. de C.V.), El Salvador, licensed under that country’s Digital Asset Issuance Law. Bitget presents it as its own issuer.
Chains
Arbitrum, Morph
Who may buy
Not offered to US persons. Bitget, where they trade, lists Canada, the United States, France and Germany among its prohibited countries.

Bitget lists all five; it added rSBSW and rSSL on 16 Sep 2026.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

Tokenized JSE ETFs on Mesh

Live

Tokens linked to South African exchange-traded funds, among them the Satrix 40, which tracks the FTSE/JSE Top 40 index. These are funds, not single shares, and every holder must be approved by the issuer, so the tokens cannot be sent to just any wallet.

Tokens
Underlying
Units of JSE-listed ETFs, including the Satrix 40 (STX40).
Issuer
Efficient Group, on the Mesh platform (Mesh Trade South Africa (Pty) Ltd, licensed financial services provider 53710), South Africa.
Chains
Stellar
Who may buy
Only accounts the issuer approves. Mesh’s site does not say which countries it accepts.

The Satrix 40 token has existed on Stellar since October 2021. When checked it still had approved holders, and the issuer’s account was active that day.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

Coming

Named platforms that say they will open. Nothing is on sale yet.

xNG Markets

Coming

A platform that plans to sell tokens of Nigerian Exchange shares, each held one for one by a licensed broker it does not name. Its site marks NGX “Beta Soon”, and the JSE, Casablanca, Egypt, Ghana and Nairobi “Planned”.

Underlying
NGX shares: 25 or more at launch, according to the site, which shows Dangote Cement, MTN Nigeria and Zenith Bank as examples.
Issuer
Bluechip Wrapped Limited, Nigeria (RC 9045187). Its terms name Trovotech Limited as the tokenization partner that issues the tokens.
Chains
Not stated.Public blockchains, not named.
Who may buy
Nothing is on sale yet. Its terms exclude US persons and sanctioned countries.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

NASD Digital Securities Platform (N-DSP)

Coming

Tokenized shares and bonds on NASD, Nigeria’s over-the-counter market for securities of unlisted public companies. SEC Nigeria approved trading on it in August 2026, Ecofin reported, and NASD said an offering would follow in early September. On 30 Sep 2026 its listing table showed two companies, both “Coming soon”.

Underlying
Securities of unlisted Nigerian public companies admitted to NASD, not NGX shares. Listed as coming: GreenWich Trust Ltd and Norrenberger Pension Trustees Ltd.
Issuer
NASD OTC Securities Exchange, Nigeria, registered with and regulated by SEC Nigeria. The blockchain comes from Blockstation, a Canadian company.
Chains
Not stated.Blockstation’s blockchain; the network is not named.
Who may buy
Not stated.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

Announced

Agreements and plans. Nothing to buy.

Tether and the Nairobi Securities Exchange

Announced

A memorandum of understanding, signed on 28 July 2026, to explore issuing and trading tokenized securities on Tether’s Hadron platform, fractional access for local and diaspora investors, and USD₮ as a possible settlement layer. No timeline was given.

Underlying
NSE securities, if it goes ahead. None is named.
Issuer
Tether (Hadron), with the NSE, Kenya.
Chains
Not stated.
Who may buy
Nothing to buy.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

Kenya Digital Exchange (KDX)

Announced

A regulated platform for tokenized assets, equities among them, announced on 21 April 2025 by DeFi Technologies, SovFi and Valour with the NSE. The plan put phase one by the end of 2025 and the last phase by the end of June 2026. We found no launch.

Underlying
Kenyan real-world assets, equities included. None is named.
Issuer
DeFi Technologies (Toronto), SovFi and Valour, with the NSE, Kenya.
Chains
Hedera
Who may buy
Nothing to buy.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

Unverified

The token exists, but what it gives its holder is not published.

DPRI: GetEquity’s Dangote refinery IPO token

Unverified

A token named “Dangote Petroleum Refinery IPO”, issued by GetEquity on Base and Solana and sold for stablecoins through NectarFi during the offer (14 Sep to 13 Oct 2026). It is bought from, and sold back to, GetEquity’s own market contract at a price GetEquity sets. GetEquity’s documentation does not say what legal claim the token carries.

Underlying
Subscriptions to the Dangote Petroleum Refinery IPO. According to Solana Compass, the shares themselves are issued and settled through the Nigerian Exchange’s usual systems. They are not listed yet.
Issuer
GetEquity, through NectarFi, a Solana app founded in Nigeria. The token’s legal home is not stated.
Chains
Base, Solana
Who may buy
Not stated by GetEquity.

Checked 30 Sep 2026

US-listed African names

Several Africa-linked shares and funds trade in the United States. We looked for a token of each at four issuers.

Checked 30 Sep 2026 in xStocks’ catalogue, Robinhood’s list of stock tokens, Ondo’s asset pages and Reality’s tokens on Bitget. “Not found” means not found there, not that no token exists anywhere.
Share or fundxStocksRobinhoodOndoReality
Gold Fields (GFI)not foundnot foundnot foundrGFI
Harmony Gold Mining (HMY)not foundnot foundnot foundrHMY
AngloGold Ashanti (AU)not foundnot foundnot foundrAU
Sibanye Stillwater (SBSW)not foundnot foundnot foundrSBSW
Sasol (SSL)not foundnot foundnot foundrSSL
Jumia (JMIA)not foundnot foundnot foundnot found
iShares MSCI South Africa ETF (EZA)not foundnot foundnot foundnot found
VanEck Africa Index ETF (AFK)not foundnot foundnot foundnot found

How this page is kept

Every row is re-checked against its sources at the start of each month, and the date on a row is its last check. Where a source and this page disagree, the source is right.

Where a company is also listed in Africa, its row links to the company’s page on Djeli, with prices from that exchange.